Signed Statements of Personal Property and Tax Payments are due on or before May 15.
PAST DUE ACCOUNTS WILL BE SUBJECT TO PENALTY AND INTEREST
Businesses, in the State of Utah, are required to declare personal property by means of a signed statement and pay an annual, self-assessing Personal Property Tax. Such tax is levied against all personal property assets (i.e. trade fixtures, equipment, computers, telephone systems, furniture, tools, etc.) owned by the business as of January 1st of each year.
Tax Exempt: A business qualifies for tax exemption if the total Market Value is $10,300 or less.
To qualify for tax exemption, signed statements must be received BY May 15, 2017.
Applications for exemption are required to be signed and completed by May 16, 2016. Signed Statements of Personal Property returned after the due date WILL NOT be given this exemption. The Personal Property Statement is subject to review and audit. If you do not qualify for this exemption, we will notify you and payment will be due 30 days from notification.
Signed Statements are being accepted via email, along with the capability to import Schedule A of the packet provided. See Below
Online payments are also being accepted as well as in the office.
Closed Businesses: Businesses closed during 2016 must notify the Assessor’s office in writing. Please contact the Assessor’s Office to request a Business Change Form, due to this office by May 15, 2017. Business Change Forms that are not received by May 15, 2016 are subject to taxes due with associated interest and penalties.
Any questions, please feel free to contact our office at (435) 636-3237. We will be glad to help you in order to avoid any penalties and interest.
Utah Code 59-2-307(1) (a) states “Each person who fails to file the signed statement required by Section 59-2-306, or fails to appear and testify when requested by the assessor, shall pay a penalty equal to 10% of the estimated tax due, but not less than $25 for each failure to file a signed and completed statement. Utah Code 59-2-1005 (1) (a) states “A taxpayer owing personal property assessed by a county assessor under Section 59-2-301 may make an appeal relating to the value of the personal property by filing an application with the county legislative body no later than (ii) 60 days after the mailing of the tax notice.
Excel File Template Download 2016 Percentage Good Tables